© 2018 by PDRLRA Inc

Proudly created with Wix.com

Follow us for more updates

Contact us for more information

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

Rookie of the Year Award

The Rookie of the Year Award was first presented in 2007. The award recognises a referee who has excelled in their first full season in refereeing; thereby establishing themselves as a noted member of the Association. The recipient applies themselves appropriately to training, meetings and on-field facets of the Association. They go above their calling as a referee and demonstrate the qualities that will help them develop into an outstanding match official. The inaugural winner of the award was Gavin Role, since that time, a number of the recipients have gone on to referee at high levels within the district, some of which have also gone onto represent the Association in inter-district competitions.

2017 Recipient
The recipient of the Rookie of the Year Award for the 2017 is Ali Sobh. After joining the Association midway through the 2016 Season, Ali has impressed all with his patience, ability to listen and his work ethic. Ali’s first full season as a referee has seen him move into the higher age groups of Junior League, refereeing under 10’s matches on a regular basis. During the course of the season, Ali’s attendance at training has been consistent, only missing a handful of sessions. He has participated well in skills sessions and as a result has reaped the rewards as seen out on the field. Ali capped off his season by being appointed to his first Grand Finals as a Touch Judge. The four Grand Finals he touch judged were the U9/4’s, U9/3’s Tier A, U9/2’s Tier A and U9/1’s Tier A. He has set a good foundation for further development in 2018 and possibly push to referee his first Grand Final. Congratulations Ali on a wonderful achievement. It is a great honour to be recognised for your potential and effort so early in your career. We look forward to seeing you progress in the seasons ahead.

Honour Roll

2017    Ali Sobh
2016    Harrison Bayssari
2015    Gavin Laing
2014    Corey Fisher
2013    Robert Pahulu
2012    James Burry
2011    Andre Nakhl
2010    Danny Constantine
2009    Daniel Luttringer
2008    Joseph Eid
2007    Gavin Role